Home News Magashi congratulates ANHeJ new Excos

Magashi congratulates ANHeJ new Excos

by Haruna Gimba

By Asmau Ahmad

The Coordinator of the Africa Health Budget Network (AHBN), Dr Aminu Magashi Garba, has congratulated the Association of Nigeria Health Journalists (ANHeJ) for successfully conducting the election that ushered in new executives of the association.

In a congratulatory message, Dr Magashi commended both the outgone and new ANHeJ executives for taking the association to greater heights over the years.

“Warmest congratulations from the AHBN to ANHeJ for the successful conduct of election and ushering in new leaders. All the best to the outgoing executives for a job well done and the new excutives for taking the group to greater heights.

“We hope the regular ministerial briefing at the Federal Ministry of Health (FmoH) will be restored with the new ministers on ground, which provide a platform for programmes and interventions updates and feedback,” Dr Magashi said.

ANHeJ had on Tuesday elected new executives, with Joseph Kadiri, a Health Correspondent of ITV as President of the association.

Kadiri was elected for a two-year term, with Rachael Abujah of the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) as Vice President and Frank Ajufo of Vision FM as the Secretary.

Others are; Yecenu Sasetu of Kiss FM asTreasurer; Uche Ugochukwu of NTA as Financial Secretary; while Kazeem Biriowo of Tribune Newspapers was elected as Welfare and Public Relations Officer (PRO).

In his acceptance speech, Kadiri thanked members for finding them worthy to serve the association just as he pledged that the new officers would work hard to take the association to greater heights.

He maintained that members would have access to information that would help them to effectively discharge their responsibilities to their various organizations.

“We thank and appreciate you all for finding us worthy to lead you. We assure you that we shall be diligent in carrying out our responsibilities.  

“We will work to ensure that you get prompt information to aid your reportage at all times. Therefore, we humbly request that you give us your maximum support to enable us to succeed,” Kadiri stated.

The new president also thanked the past presidents of the association, Hassan Zaggi of The Authority Newspapers, and Marcus Fatunmole of the International Centre for Investigative Reporting (ICIR), as well as the chairman of the electoral committee, Onyebuchi Ozigbo of Thisday Newspapers, for guidance towards ensuring a free, fair and credible elections.

Related Articles

Leave a Comment